Time to Write

I am told it is time to write

Yet, sometimes, it seems I cannot bring my heart

to speak,

to write.

Like there is a part of me that wants to contain it all.

Maybe, in the hopes that it will go away.

Maybe, in the hopes that it will always be there.

Nonetheless, it seems I cannot bring

pen to paper, fingers to keyboard.

Maybe, it is not the writing I’m fighting.

Maybe, I’m afraid of my own heart.

Afraid of what my heart will say,

Afraid of what my heart will feel,

Afraid of what my heart may reveal.

Because so many days of my life have been spent

simply surviving.

diving into those days, those moments,

when i could not keep my head up.

could not lift my heart off the floor.

scare me.

it’s easier to work, easier to dance,

easier to run, easier to hide

my heart.

About Valerie Christine

I have been writing since I was 13 and was published for the first time at the age of 14. Writing has always been a place to share, to be, to feel with no interruptions. No rules. No judgment. Every piece is like a photograph, a moment in time that only truly exists for that moment because there will never be another moment exactly like it. See, every moment is unique with many variables making it set apart from the next and the next. And so with words, as with pictures, we capture these moments. Like capturing a tear or a laugh or a snowflake. Because truly the only variable is change. And so in words I seek to capture and remember what inevitably shifts and changes. View all posts by Valerie Christine

2 responses to “Time to Write

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

